Wolverhampton Wanderers will ply their trade in the Barclays Premier League for a third successive year after avoiding relegation on a dramatic final day of the 2010/11 season.

Many pudits predicted a return to the Championship, but under manager Mick McCarthy, Wolves again proved the doubters wrong to survive.

Wolves' first spell in the Premier League came in the 2003/04 season, after they won promotion via the play-offs. A disappointing campaign ended in relegation, as the Midlands side finished bottom of the table with 33 points.

They won the Championship title in 2009 and have been in the top flight ever since, finishing in 15th and then 17th place.

club heritage

Initially formed as St Luke's FC in 1877, the club became a founder member of the Football League 11 years later. In 1889, the club moved to their Molineux ground and reached the FA Cup final, losing 3-0 to Preston North End. The first of four FA Cup wins came in 1893, when they beat Everton 1-0.

In 1906, Wolves were relegated to the Second Division, but enjoyed another FA Cup win two years later, this time over favourites Newcastle United. In 1923 the club slipped further down the league system, with relegation to the Third Division (north.).

Success came 12 months later when they won Division Two. In 1932, they were promoted again, returning to the top-flight after a 26 year absence.

When Wolves old-boy Stan Cullis became manager in 1948, he oversaw one of the club's most triumphant periods, with an FA Cup win in 1949 being followed by three First Division titles in the fifties. Another FA Cup success, this time over Blackburn Rovers, came in 1960. After Cullis left the club in 1963, Wolves spent two seasons in the second tier before winning promotion once more.

Under manager Bill McGarry, the club made a UEFA Cup Final appearance against Tottenham Hotspur in 1972 and won the League Cup in 1974. In 1976 Wolves were relegated back to the Second Division, but they bounced back at the first time of asking, promoted as champions in 1977.

The early 1980s saw a League Cup win, a relegation to the Second Division, bankruptcy, and a promotion, followed by three successive relegations which left the club in the Fourth Division.

A change of ownership saw a dramatic improvement in the club's fortunes. The Molineux outfit won promotion from Division Four in 1987/88, which was followed by a second successive promotion a year later.

In 1990, Sir Jack Hayward bought the club and with his investment in the stadium and the team, the club enjoyed more stability, spending much of the 1990s pushing for a place in the Premier League, with several play-off final disappointments along the way.

The dream of Premier League football was eventually realised in 2003, with a play-off final win over Sheffield United at the Millennium Stadium clinching their promotion. Having seen his beloved club hit the big time, Hayward retired six months later.

A single season in the top-flight ended in relegation, with manager Dave Jones being dismissed shortly after. Former England manager Glenn Hoddle enjoyed a two-year spell at the club before Mick McCarthy took over the reins in the summer of 2006.

Then in August 2007, Redrow founder Steve Morgan bought Wolves for £10 plus a commitment to invest £30m into the club. In 2009, Wolves were promoted to the Barclays Premier League after being crowned Championship champions.

premier league history

2002/03 - Win promotion to Premier League via play-offs.
2003/04 - Relegated from the top-flight with 33 points.
2008/09 - Crowned champions of the Championship, promoted back to the Premier League.
2009/10 - Secured their Barclays Premier League status.
2010/11 - Retained their place in the Barclays Premier League.